Outstanding Industry Contributor

The 2022 Outstandig Industry Contributor Award was presented on March 10, 2022

Award Description

The Outstanding Industry Contributor Award shall be given to an individual who in embodying the Zephyr Principles, has selflessly contributed to the good of the industry through the body of their work.

Outstanding Industry Contributor shall be:

  • Collegial and collaborative, investing in shared technical knowledge and community assets in order to reach common goals (e.g. open access papers, code, documentation, and data);
  • Generous with their time such as investment in mentorship, community-assets, and other volunteer roles;
  • Respectful and thoughtful in their interactions; and
  • Goal-oriented towards the public good and usefulness, even if the pathway is unconventional.

Nominees will be considered by a three-person award committee and forwarded to the Zephyr Board for approval. Awards are made at the TRB Annual Meeting.

2022 Awardee

Congratulations to the winner of the 2022 Outstanding Contributor Award: Dr. Johanna Zmud

Dr. Zmud is a travel behavior researcher, who has been at the forefront of applying survey science to the gathering of data on past, current, and future travel behavior to understand important phenomena, such as transportation mode choice, and to ascertain developing trends, such as propensity to use automated vehicles. Johanna has focused recent research on impacts of technology-enabled mobility on society and implications for transportation providers and agencies. Dr. Zmud has a keen sense for how to use research and travel analysis for policy relevant studies. She is an outstanding collaborator and has mentored younger travel behavior researchers for many years. Dr. Zmud is a true visionary, always thinking outside the box, but still grounded in data.

The 2022 Outstanding Industry Contributor Committee was:

  • Jonathan Ehrlich (Facilitator)
  • Maren Outwater
  • Pedro Camargo
  • Liza Amar (Board)

Award Recipients

  • Julie Dunbar, 2019
  • Michael Mahut, 2020
  • Patricia Mokhtarian, 2021